Skip to content Skip to menu

PharmAus 2017 Speaker Information

Dr Deborah Rathjen BSc (HONS), PhD, MAICD, FTSE
CEO and Managing Director, Bionomics

Dr Rathjen joined Bionomics in 2000 from Peptech Limited, where she was general manager of business development and licensing. Dr Rathjen was a co-inventor of Peptech’s TNF technology and leader of the company’s successful defence of its key TNF patents against a legal challenge by BASF. Dr Rathjen has significant experience in company building and financing, mergers and acquisitions, therapeutic product research and development, business development, licensing and commercialisation. Dr Rathjen has been recognised both in Australia and internationally through awards and honours including the 2004 AusBiotech President’s Medal, 2006 Flinders University Distinguished Alumni Award, 2009 BioSingapore Asia Pacific Biotechnology Woman Entrepreneur of the Year, 2009 Regional Finalist Ernst & Young, Young Entrepreneur of the Year, and 2014 Woman Executive of the Year BioPharm Industry Awards. In 2015 Dr Rathjen was included in the Top 50 most influential Australia business women by The Australian newspaper.