Skip to content Skip to menu

Appointment of Medicines Australia Board of Directors, Chair and Deputy and Chair

Wednesday, 25 October 2017

Media Release

Mr Wes Cook, Managing Director of Boehringer Ingelheim Australia, has been re-elected as the Chair of Medicines Australia with Dr Anna Lavelle re-endorsed as Independent Deputy Chair.

The appointments followed the announcement of the new Board of Medicines Australia at the association’s Annual General Meeting in Sydney today (see list below).

Medicines Australia Chief Executive Mr Milton Catelin said, “Wes has shown outstanding leadership as Chair and helped to guide the strategic direction of our industry for quite some time now, including the Strategic Agreement signed earlier this year with the Commonwealth.”

“As our Deputy Chair and independent Board member, Dr Lavelle provides expertise on Board governance as well as invaluable insights into the broader biopharmaceutical and medical research sector from her years of industry experience.”

“I would like to congratulate all new and returning Medicines Australia Board Members who were selected by their peers following the recently conducted members’ ballot.”

The new Board announced at today’s Annual General Meeting will serve until October 2019.

Chair Mr Wes Cook Managing Director Boehringer Ingelheim Pty Ltd
Independent Director and Deputy Chair Dr Anna Lavelle
Director Anne Belcher Vice President/General Manager GlaxoSmithKline Australia Pty Ltd
Director Brad Edwards General Manager ANZ Shire Australia Pty Limited
Director Michala Fischer- Hansen VP and General Manager – Oceania Novo Nordisk Pharmaceuticals Pty Ltd-Australia
Director Bruce Goodwin Managing Director Janssen-Cilag Pty Limited
Director James Jones Managing Director Takeda Pharmaceuticals Australia Pty Ltd
Director Melissa McGregor Managing Director Pfizer Australia Pty Ltd
Director Kirsten O’Doherty General Manager AbbVie Pty Ltd
Director Svend Petersen Managing Director Roche Products Pty Limited
Director Brent Pfeiffenberger Managing Director Australia/New Zealand Bristol-Myers Squibb Australia Pty Ltd

“On behalf of Medicines Australia, I would like thank all outgoing Board members, for their commitment to the innovative medicines industry during their time as Directors,” said Mr Catelin.

“They deserve enormous gratitude from the sector for their role in developing a Strategic Agreement with the Commonwealth that provides certainty for industry, incredible value for taxpayers and better access for Australians to innovative medicines.”

“The announcement of a new Board is an important milestone for the membership. It provides both continuity as well as fresh leadership that will help to steer the strategic direction of Medicines Australia and the industry more broadly for the years to come.”

“I look forward to working closely with the new Board and once again offer them my congratulations,” said Mr Catelin.



Natalie Wimmer Phone: 0450 728 660